Nini is about to celebrate her 10th birthday when Pearl Harbor happens.

Early that morning she watches as Japanese troops march down the street in front of her family’s apartment, ending the only way of life she has ever known. After her American mother is forced to register as an “enemy alien” and other British and American families are loaded onto buses and taken away, Nini's Chinese father plunges the family into hiding.

Fans of The Diary of Anne Frank and Lowis Lowry’s Number the Stars will enjoy this new historical fiction novel, Dragonfly Dreams, based on the real experiences of the Liu family during World War II in China under the Japanese occupation.

Eleanor photo

Dr. Eleanor M. Cooper

Author

Growing up in the South during the Cold War, my world view was startlingly narrow. My first job after college was in Japan. I taught English in a Japanese college and then became a guide at the U.S. Pavilion at the World’s Fair, Expo ’70, in Osaka. Japan turned my world upside down, and ever since that experience at age 21, I have sought ways to bring people together across cultural and historical divides.